Ex-Gay Ministry Dropped By Exodus, But Still On MSU Servers

So bizarre that even Exodus has gotta step away.  Message on the website of Corduroy Stone (emphasis added),

“Corduroy Stone is no longer a referral ministry of Exodus International, but continues to offer a biblical response to the subject of homosexuality and heterosexuality. Corduroy Stone is available to anyone interested in exploring this perspective.”

A “biblical response”, eh?  Without that fucking Bible of theirs to hide behind, these charlatans would be SHUT DOWN and put in jail.  Religious freedom allows them to mind-fuck people who are desperately seeking help for their life situations.

VIDEO after the fold of a survivor of Corduroy Stone’s damaging and bizarre therapy sessions.

From Joe.My.God.:

How blatantly bizarre and predatory does “ex-gay reparative therapy” have to be for even the mental cases at Exodus International to disavow you? Here’s some of what their “therapist” at their Lansing, Michigan affiliate did to young Patrick McAlvey.

“He asked how large my penis was. He asked if I shave my pubic hair. He asked what type of underwear that I wore. He wanted me to describe my sexual fantasies to him and the type of men I’m attracted to. On one occasion, he asked me to take my shirt off and show him how many push-ups I could do, which I did not do.”

Truth Wins Out reports:

Truth Wins Out (TWO) revealed today that the nation’s largest “ex-gay” organization, Exodus International, officially cut ties with its Lansing affiliate Corduroy Stone after charges were made by an ex-gay survivor that the sessions included harmful and bizarre therapy. In August, Patrick McAlvey made the charges against Corduroy Stone’s Mike Jones in a Truth Wins Out video, yet it took Exodus until December to take action. Exodus’ dithering in the face of scandal cost precious time and may have placed additional youth in harm’s way, according to Truth Wins Out.

This is Patrick McAlvey.  Video from TruthWinsOut‘s website.

“For decades Exodus International has lent this predator some level of credibility,” ex-gay survivor Patrick McAlvey told Truth Wins Out. “Now they have finally realized how dangerous he is, but how many vulnerable folks have already been victimized because of Exodus’ support of this man?”

“Shame on Exodus International for dragging its feet when our children were at risk,” said Truth Wins Out’s Executive Director Wayne Besen. “Exodus was more interested in covering up the scandal than fixing it. This case shows that ex-gay programs lack standards and place vulnerable people in harms way.”

Corduroy Stone is, however, still hosted on the server at Michigan State University.  From The Progressive Puppy: (please read his whole post)

Terry Denbow, vice president for university relations, attempts to defend MSU’s position in an email to the Messenger: “The fact that this organization has material that is offensive does not, in and of itself, violate any University policies. We cannot, under the First Amendment, make content based distinctions on what sites we allow and which ones we do not.”

Reparative therapy is more than offensive, Mr. Denbow.  It’s psychologically damaging.  And demeaning.  If you continue to support Jones’ site, your “institution of higher learning” will not deserve that descriptor.

Good response, Max.

This “ex-gay” bullshit always interests me for a couple of reasons.  One, because one of my sisters has tried to tell me about it a couple or three times over the years … of course, I just laughed my ass off at her; she and that second husband of hers are both brainwashed by their fundie church.  Two, because many years past I put myself through my own private hell about accepting what I cannot change; I’m just glad I didn’t go through this bullshit.

Leave a comment

Filed under News and Stuff, Photos and Videos

Leave a Reply

